One Thousand Degrees

The best way to learn about Ruskin Mill Trust’s Practical Skills Therapeutic Education curriculum was to experience the colleges for myself and maybe even participate in some hands-on training from the teachers and students.  Here is an inside view of two of the three colleges and the various projects that the RMT students are engaged in, while in the programme. 

GLASSHOUSE COLLEGE  Chris, the glass making student/teacher, made it look so easy!  But glass making is not only one of the most challenging things I have done in my life, I was never so present in my body.  In deep concentration and completely aware of the 1000 degree (plus) temperatures in the glass melting oven and at the end of the metal rod, I put into action what I learned about rolling and shaping the pliable ball of glass.  I made three clear glass snowmen to practice on before I attempted the swirling orange paper weight.  The teacher who introduced the process to me, went over the rules of safety, and never left my side was Chris, a third-year student at one of three colleges at Ruskin Mill Trusts called Glasshouse College in Stourbridge. 

RUSKIN MILL TRUST’S COLLEGES      Since 1986, hundreds of students aged 16-25 with complex behaviour and learning difficulties and disabilities, including autistic spectrum conditions, have benefitted from the Trust’s innovative practical skills therapeutic education programme.   As a former, frustrated, Special Education teacher in the Bay Area, I am excited about the work that is being done at Ruskin Mill Trust’s colleges in England.  The student journey includes an individual learning plan, appropriate levels of support throughout the three-year program, and works with students to develop their living and employability skills and plans for the future. 

FREEMAN COLLEGE    The student’s journey varies at the Ruskin Mill Trust colleges.  On another day, my colleague and I took the train to Sheffied, nicknamed the “Steel City,” to meet another side of RMT.  At Freeman College, students have opportunities to work with one of the five craftspeople through the Academy of Makers several days a week to learn their trade or craft.  I met an amazing student, Shem, who is not only a master baker and has cooked for the onsight cafe, he is very savy with computers and social media.

Today I have joined the weaving class where, not only did I learn to weave, I quickly found out it is not as easy as it looks and takes some skill.  As I am struggling with my yarn and undoing my work because I missed a peg, the young lady across from me is moving her fingers so fast, she has completed nine rows to my one.

She encouraged me to keep moving forward by sharing her story:  “When I first started weaving, I couldn’t sit for more than three minutes — I have ADD.  And I could not weave back and forth without turning my work all the way around each time I finished a row.  Now I can work real fast without stopping.  I can sit here for over an hour without having to get up and walk around.”

At the end of class, both the student and teacher fill out an assessment form on the student’s progress.  All of the teachers are responsible for and keep thorough documentation on a student’s three-year journey at RMT colleges.  

Meanwhile, I have finished a few rows and slowly getting the hang of it, until I have to remove my work off of the pegs, and it looks like it’s going to unravel.  I had to learn to “trust the process,” especially when I was changing colors and having to cut the yarn off close to my work.

The Gift Shop at Freeman College has work that was created by students and the craftspeople (Academy of Makers) at the college.  The sterling silver spoons, bookmarks, cards, organic rose and camomile lotions, and silk scarves were one of a kind beauties.   But I got stopped dead in my tracks when I found out one of the craftspeople was a book binder.  I commissioned  Anne Heppell  to make a personalized journal for me — A REAL BOOK with a spine and my name in gold leaf — what a treasure! 

Both colleges rekindled the artist in me, and I vowed to take out my paint brushes and watercolor paints that I had brought with me to England.  While attending grad school, I had to set them aside for three years until I completed my studying.  I’m anxious to see what I will come up with.  Come take a peek once in a while at BB Art listed under pages for this blog.

Well, I’m off for now.  In my next post, I will take you to Ruskin Mill Trust College and show you what the kids are doing there, tell you about the Flowform workshop at RMT that I participated in, and share some photos of this gorgeous college boasting a splendid natural environment.

Cheers!

Barbara Bonardi

This entry was published on April 3, 2012 at 5:01 pm. It’s filed under Practical Skills Therapeutic Education, Ruskin Mill Trust Colleges and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a comment