Sprouting Roots In Organic Stroud

I love my Saturday mornings in Stroud. Today I am starting my day at Mills Cafe nestled in the middle of a small farmer’s market.  For those of you that know me well, you are well aware that my standing date with my Journal every morning over a Peets Coffee & Tea machiatto or an Americano at Emporio Rulli is my sacred time.  I have kept this tradition in Stroud.  There are four cafes that I frequent — Star Anise Arts Cafe, Woodruffs Organic Cafe, Mills Cafe, and Costa Cafe.  As time goes on, I can feel that I am sprouting roots in the stress free life of Stroud.

Before I left Marin, I was warned that English food was awful and very fatty.  I had a talk with my doctor, Justin Mager, at Clear Center of Health, who had helped me lose over 30 pounds a year ago while on the HCG diet.  I didn’t want to gain it all back, especially on lousy food.  Much to my surprise, I have not had a bad meal in England, and I have found wonderful farmer’s markets in Stroud and Nailsworth boasting fresh and organic fruits and vegetables.  If I don’t want to cook, Star Anise Arts Cafe and Woodruffs Organic Cafe have been my restaurants of choice for inexpensive, organic meals.  Both cafes serve breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

At work, one of my co-workers, Jane, brought in some freshly laid eggs from one of her three chickens.  Pansy lives with Daisy and Bob and produce the most delicious eggs.  I couldn’t wait to poach them and smother them in  hollandaise sauce from Williams Fish Market and Foodhall in Nailsworth.  Amazing does not even begin to describe the taste of freshly laid eggs.  Oh, yes, the diet …. well, it was just a tablespoon of hollandaise drizzled on the eggs.

     

It’s amazing how many more calories I can eat, because I don’t have a car, and I walk everywhere.  In fact, this is one of my many paths to and from work.

 

I have blended in well with the community, aside from my American accent.  I am very passionate about my work at Ruskin Mill Trust and absolutely love living in Stroud, aside from missing my family.  We email and Skype each other back and forth everyday, and it’s almost like I am living next door; however, I missed out on the homemade ravioli that Frank and the kids made last night.

I know Rick Steves would tell me I should take advantage of being so close to Europe and travel around, but to tell you the truth, I am enjoying mingling with the Stroud locals after work and on the weekends.  I have met so many wonderful people, joined a conversation Spanish class on Thursday nights at Woodruffs Organic Cafe, joined the local recreation center’s swimming pool, signed petitions to stop building on green fields in Stroud, and making monthly donations to support the Woodland Trust. 

I have found my second home!

Barbara Bonardi

This entry was published on March 19, 2012 at 3:10 pm. It’s filed under Restaurants & Cafes, Stroud, Working @ Ruskin Mill Trust, Working in England and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Sprouting Roots In Organic Stroud

  1. Stacie Shepp on said:

    Love the blog Barbara. I’m enjoying hearing about your new adventure!

Leave a comment