Car-less and Careless Free in England

On my way to work, I often stop at Star Anise Arts Cafe in Stroud to journal and have a cup of hot cocoa or an Americano — which is always delivered with a smile.  This is Dan who is from Holland.  He is one of the many amzing baristas who works at the cafe.  Nicholas Allan, the owner of Star Anise,  and several other chefs have been up for hours making morning breakfast and treats, including my favorite:  chocolate/almond croissants.  I absolutely love thier open kitchen design, which I would love to have in my own home.  This is my favorite place to journal, check my emails from home, and create blogs for you!   When I am running a little behind time, I jump to Plan II and stop off at Hobbs House Bakery in Nailsworth before I walk up the hill to my office, the equivalent of a 375 calorie burn!.

Today I am having a plump almond croissant with my Americano to go. Ruskin Mill College is a 15-minute walk uphill past quaint shops, precious stone cottages, views of castle-like homes in the distance, Riley the calico cat who watches over the goldfish pond in the neighbor’s yard, and so much lush greenery.  Along the way, I unintentionally leave a trail of almond slivers and croissant flakes in my path, which will soon be devoured by the morning birds.

The 15-minute walks here and there throughout my day add up to high-quality calorie burning inches & pounds.  This is a huge benefit to not having a car to drive for nearly four months.  Not having a car is quite freeing while living in Stroud and traveling through England.  I haven’t had to worry about getting a parking ticket, washing the car, checking the oil and fluids, filling up the tank with another whooping $74.00 of gas, or wondering what that funny noise is that’s coming from under my hood.  Plus, the cost of gas in England is astronominal!  I just spoke to a lovely man named David who did the math for me and said to fill his BMW costs him 80 pounds sterling, the equivalent of over $125.00 USD!  Holy!  That’s over 60 Americanos or 45 machiattos!  .

In England, if I need go somewhere fast or far away, I take the local bus to work, the train to Paddington Station in London, or ring my taxi friend, Andy, who can take me miles in any direction.  Meanwhile, my favorite mode of transportation is walking.  I have worn out three pairs of shoes and my favorite boots since I arrived on January 13th. 

One of my favorite walks is at Ruskin Mill College where I work.  The gounds are absolutely beautiful.  Everytime I go for a walk through the Mill, I see something different. This stress-free environment is truly Heaven on Earth and an amazing place to work, study, and attend workshops.  I walked the campus through snow and hail a few months ago.  Today there is a little pause between rainfalls, and I just had to take a stroll with my camera during lunch.

The curriculum at Ruskin Mill Trust’s colleges is empowering.  Aonghus Gordon, the founder of RMT, lives on campus.  I have seen Aonghus passionately working on projects, attending seminars to support our guest speakers, he always seems to have a minute to talk to or inspire a member of his staff, and even traveling the globe* to give talks to personally promote the college’s newest addition:  the MSc programme at The Field Centre.  *That’s how I  met Aonghus Gordon when he came to Dominican University of California to give a talk, which completely changed my life!

RMT’s slogan “re-imagining potential” can be seen everywhere on campus.  In the short time I have been working here, I have personally witnessed substantial growth in many of the students.  Not anything like I have seen at home in the United States. RMT colleges, the teachers, and staff create a harmonious balance for special needs children and provide the tools for create meaningful and successful futures for themselves.

RMT curriculum’s foundation, Practical Skill Therapeutic Education (PSTE), is the key to the colleges’s success.  Beginning this Fall, 2012, RMT in conjuctions with Crossfields Institute is offering an accredited degree programme: MSc in Practical Skills Therapeutic Education at their brand new Field Centre.  The students attending will not only benefit from the knowledge they will bring back and impliment into their own organizations, they will be studying with a diverse group of global scholars.The RMC environment has the ability to transform lives and enrich the soul. Here’s the American version of the brochure I created with my colleague and the teamwork of the RMT management staff who are unbelievable (photo of the group at the end of this section).

While in the programme, accommodations for students are spectacular!  I know, because I am currently residing at the house called Upper Grange in the room at the top overlooking the town of Stroud.  It is a treasured house centrally located from the lovely town of Stroud.  Everything is at your fingertips!  Upper Grange is a 15-20 minute bus ride to RMT (or an amazing 2-1/4 hour walk along the bike path from Nailsworth to Stroud).  If you come to study, you must do the walk.

Experience for yourself how freeing it is to be car-less in England.

Cheers!

Barbara Bonardi

This entry was published on April 25, 2012 at 1:47 pm. It’s filed under Higher Education - MSc in PSTE, Practical Skills Therapeutic Education, Restaurants & Cafes, Stroud, Working @ Ruskin Mill Trust, Working in England and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a comment